top of page

Playing & Learning

"Education is the most powerful weapon which   you can use to change the world". Nelson Mandela
​The Early Years Foundation Stage


As part of our commitment to the Early Years Foundation Stage we undertake to support children in all areas of learning and development.


There are seven areas that must shape educational programmes in all early years settings. All these areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.


Prime Areas

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three prime areas are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development


Specific Areas

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design


We ensure that all these areas are covered in our curriculum, combining child initiated play and learning with planned adult led activities. We use profiles and observations to enable us to assess the development of each child throughout their time in pre-school. These are available for parents to see and contribute to at any time. Parents/carers are asked to view them at least once, giving permission for them to be sent on to school or nursery with their child.


Detailed information about the Early Years Foundation Stage which includes all children 0 – 5yrs is on display at the setting and further information is available at the end of the prospectus.

bottom of page